Canterbury v Wellington
Other First-Class matches in New Zealand 1889/90
VenueHagley Oval, Christchurch on 27th, 28th December 1889 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossCanterbury won the toss and decided to bat
ResultCanterbury won by 39 runs
Close of play day 1Canterbury (2) 94/6 (de Maus 19*, Reese 5*)

Canterbury first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+G Marshallc and b Dryden23     
HS de Mausb McGirr1     
ABM Labattc A Blacklock b Moorhouse47     
AFG Harmanst +Moorhouse b McGirr1     
CW Garrardb Dryden32     
WJ Cotterillc Salmon b Dryden1     
TW Reesec Ogier b Dryden3     
GL Raynerc Moorhouse b Dryden0     
*EJ Cotterillc Brooke b Dryden3     
WEP Barnesnot out19     
AE Mossc Lawson b Dryden0     
Extras(6 b, 2 lb)8
Total(all out, 70.4 overs)138
Fall of wickets:
1-8 (de Maus), 2-42 (Marshall), 3-43 (Harman), 4-96 (Labatt), 5-97 (WJ Cotterill), 6-102 (Reese), 7-102 (Rayner), 8-108 (Garrard), 9-138 (EJ Cotterill), 10-138 (Moss, 70.4 ov)
Wellington bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McGirr15   4212--
Lawson8   1240--
Moorhouse16   4271--

Wellington first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Blacklockb Moss9     
*WJ Salmonc Marshall b Moss1     
RV Blacklockc Garrard b Moss0     
M Moorhousec Marshall b Moss2     
CH Drydenc Marshall b Moss4     
EW Brookec EJ Cotterill b Moss8     
WP McGirrc Barnes b Moss20     
AI Littlejohnnot out13     
S Nichollsc and b Moss0     
+PHW Ogierb Moss5     
HW Lawsonb Moss4     
Extras(4 b, 1 lb)5
Total(all out, 42.3 overs)71
Fall of wickets:
1-3 (Salmon), 2-3 (RV Blacklock), 3-9 (Moorhouse), 4-18 (A Blacklock), 5-25 (Dryden), 6-28 (Brooke), 7-57 (McGirr), 8-57 (Nicholls), 9-65 (Ogier), 10-71 (Lawson, 42.3 ov)
Canterbury bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Garrard14   6220--
Labatt7   3160--

Canterbury second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+G Marshallb Moorhouse0     
AFG Harmanc and b Dryden0     
WEP Barnesc RV Blacklock b Dryden18     
ABM Labattc Moorhouse b Dryden14     
CW Garrardb McGirr23     
WJ Cotterillc RV Blacklock b Dryden3     
HS de Mausb McGirr20     
TW Reesec Nicholls b McGirr6     
GL Raynerst +Moorhouse b Dryden8     
*EJ Cotterilllbw b McGirr6     
AE Mossnot out0     
Extras(6 b, 5 lb, 2 w)13
Total(all out, 54.2 overs)111
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Marshall), 2-3 (Harman), 3-30 (Labatt), 4-49 (Barnes), 5-65 (Garrard), 6-84 (WJ Cotterill), 7-96 (Reese), 8-100 (de Maus), 9-111 (EJ Cotterill), 10-111 (Rayner, 54.2 ov)
Wellington bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McGirr16   5384--
Moorhouse11   3251--

Wellington second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AI Littlejohnb Moss1     
*WJ Salmonb Moss32     
A Blacklockb Moss12     
M Moorhousec WJ Cotterill b Harman0     
RV Blacklockb Harman9     
EW Brookec de Maus b Harman10     
CH Drydenb Harman4     
WP McGirrc Garrard b de Maus31     
+PHW Ogierc WJ Cotterill b Harman8     
S Nichollsnot out29     
HW Lawsonc WJ Cotterill b de Maus1     
Extras(2 lb)2
Total(all out, 58 overs)139
Fall of wickets:
1-7 (Littlejohn), 2-36 (A Blacklock), 3-36 (Moorhouse), 4-49 (Salmon), 5-61 (RV Blacklock), 6-68 (Brooke), 7-79 (Dryden), 8-87 (Ogier), 9-137 (McGirr), 10-139 (Lawson, 58 ov)
Canterbury bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Moss25   6443--
Garrard9   3150--
Labatt4   0170--
Harman15   1435--
de Maus5   0182--

--> The match was scheduled for three days but completed in two.
--> HS de Maus made his debut in first-class matches
--> ABM Labatt (1) passed his previous highest score of 17 in first-class matches
--> AFG Harman made his debut in first-class matches
--> CW Garrard (1) passed his previous highest score of 24 in first-class matches
--> AE Moss made his debut in first-class matches
--> EW Brooke made his debut in first-class matches
--> PHW Ogier made his debut in first-class matches
--> GL Rayner made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> AI Littlejohn made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> AE Moss achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Wellington first innings
--> AFG Harman achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Wellington second innings



Created by the CricketArchive Oracles
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive