Rangitikei v Manawatu
Other matches in New Zealand 1973/74
VenueCentennial Park, Marton on 20th, 21st January 1974 (2-day match)
Balls per over8
TossToss not known
ResultRangitikei won by 42 runs
Close of play day 1

Rangitikei first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PLS Sherriffb Hooper15     
TJ Theedrun out6     
CR Fowlesb Reilly10     
CC Mudgwayst Downes b Reilly0     
+DJ Calkinb Brooke23     
GL Marshalllbw b Brooke0     
BJ Collettc Walker b Duncan51 11031 
HI Barnettc Crone b Brooke10     
BF Murrayc Duncan b Brooke16     
R Milburnc Wright b Brooke11     
IR Wheelernot out12     
Total(all out, 59.6 overs)166
Fall of wickets:
1-8 (Theed), 2-25, 3-25, 4-62, 5-62, 6-62, 7-80, 8-113, 9-149, 10-166 (59.6 ov)
Manawatu bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Reilly11   2242--
Crone12   5230--
Brooke19   3435--
Hooper11   0531--

Manawatu first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HC Wrightc Calkin b Marshall22     
GP Haddonc Calkin b Barnett16     
M Youngc Murray b Marshall22     
GHR Duncanst Calkin b Milburn12     
J Smithb Marshall4     
JG Hooperb Wheeler19     
+LW Downesnot out55  7- 
MJ Brookeb Wheeler0     
JR Cronelbw b Wheeler6     
R Walkerb Wheeler0     
JD Reillynot out6     
Total(9 wickets, declared, 53 overs)195
Fall of wickets:
1-38, 2-60, 3-97, 4-104, 5-106, 6-144, 7-144, 8-144, 9-168
Rangitikei bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wheeler15   0434--
Murray5   1160--
Barnett6   3141--
Collett5   1160--
Marshall15   1503--
Milburn7   0231--

Rangitikei second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TJ Theedc Wright b Brooke43 1267- 
PLS Sherriffb Reilly8     
CR Fowlesst Downes b Reilly16     
CC Mudgwaylbw b Reilly0     
+DJ Calkinst Downes b Hooper25     
GL Marshallc Walker b Brooke24     
BJ Collettb Duncan7     
BF Murrayc Hooper b Brooke9     
HI Barnettnot out7     
R Milburnnot out0     
IR Wheelerdid not bat      
Total(8 wickets, declared, 38 overs)146
Fall of wickets:
1-13 (Sherriff), 2-40 (Fowles), 3-40 (Mudgway), 4-96, 5-96, 6-128, 7-128, 8-141
Manawatu bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Reilly7   1353--
Crone7   1200--
Walker4   0250--
Brooke11   3363--
Hooper5   1221--
Duncan4   311--

Manawatu second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GP Haddonc Marshall b Wheeler18     
HC Wrightb Wheeler0     
M Younglbw b Collett15     
GHR Duncanb Collett4     
+LW Downesc Marshall b Wheeler5     
J Smithc Collett b Wheeler7     
JG Hooperc Calkin b Wheeler4     
MJ Brookelbw b Wheeler0     
JR Cronelbw b Collett9     
R Walkerc and b Wheeler4     
JD Reillynot out5     
Total(all out, 19.2 overs)75
Fall of wickets:
1-1 (Wright), 2-24, 3-28, 4-39, 5-46, 6-52, 7-52, 8-61, 9-65, 10-75 (19.2 ov)
Rangitikei bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wheeler10   1337--

Manawatu were given 130 minutes to score 118 for the outright win