New Zealand v Australia
Australia in New Zealand 1981/82 (2nd Test)
VenueEden Park, Auckland on 12th, 13th, 14th, 15th, 16th March 1982 (5-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNew Zealand won the toss and decided to field
ResultNew Zealand won by 5 wickets
UmpiresBA Bricknell, SJ Woodward
Close of play day 1New Zealand (1) 35/2 (Edgar 19*)
Close of play day 2New Zealand (1) 241/3 (Edgar 103*, Coney 55*)
Close of play day 3Australia (2) 13/0 (Laird 3*, Wood 9*)
Close of play day 4Australia (2) 241/4 (Chappell 24*, Border 14*)
Man of the MatchBA Edgar

Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BM Lairdc Smith b Troup3879984- 
GM Woodc Smith b Cairns921271- 
J Dysonb Snedden331291603- 
KJ Hughesc Smith b Troup089-- 
*GS Chappellrun out3236396- 
AR Borderrun out011-- 
+RW Marshb Troup338911231 
B Yardleyb Hadlee2533444- 
JR Thomsonlbw b Hadlee13161511 
DK Lilleec Crowe b Troup915191- 
TM Aldermannot out037-- 
Extras(2 lb, 16 nb)18
Total(all out, 274 minutes, 68.3 overs)210
Fall of wickets:
1-19 (Wood), 2-75 (Laird), 3-76 (Hughes), 4-120 (Chappell), 5-120 (Border), 6-131 (Dyson), 7-173 (Yardley), 8-187 (Thomson), 9-203 (Marsh), 10-210 (Lillee, 68.3 ov)
New Zealand bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hadlee20   7382--
Cairns17   7381--
Snedden12   5261--
Howarth1   080--

New Zealand first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BA Edgarc and b Yardley16141851322- 
JG Wrightc Yardley b Lillee429371- 
JFM Morrisonb Lillee1112162- 
*GP Howarthrun out561091297- 
JV Coneyb Yardley7317321710- 
MD Crowec Wood b Lillee22736-- 
RJ Hadleec Chappell b Yardley25414112 
+IDS Smithlbw b Yardley51621-- 
BL Cairnsc Lillee b Alderman142033-1 
MC Sneddennot out1847451- 
GB Troupc Border b Alderman41422-- 
Extras(4 b, 7 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)14
Total(all out, 562 minutes, 150.3 overs)387
Fall of wickets:
1-15 (Wright), 2-35 (Morrison), 3-122 (Howarth), 4-276 (Coney), 5-291 (Crowe), 6-326 (Hadlee), 7-345 (Smith), 8-352 (Edgar), 9-366 (Cairns), 10-387 (Troup, 150.3 ov)
Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomson23   8520--
Lillee39   71063--
Yardley56   221424--
Border3   0110--
Chappell5   230--

Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BM Lairdlbw b Hadlee391231662- 
GM Woodc Snedden b Cairns10024926110- 
J Dysonb Cairns331501652- 
KJ Hughesb Cairns1771521- 
*GS Chappellc Edgar b Hadlee2457674- 
AR Borderc Howarth b Morrison381231287- 
+RW Marshc Crowe b Hadlee31014-- 
B Yardleyc Coney b Hadlee042-- 
JR Thomsonlbw b Hadlee41425-- 
DK Lilleec Smith b Morrison52123-- 
TM Aldermannot out059-- 
Extras(4 b, 5 lb, 8 nb)17
Total(all out, 462 minutes, 138 overs)280
Fall of wickets:
1-106 (Laird), 2-167 (Wood), 3-196 (Hughes), 4-202 (Dyson), 5-241 (Chappell), 6-254 (Marsh), 7-254 (Yardley), 8-260 (Thomson), 9-277 (Lillee), 10-280 (Border, 138 ov)
New Zealand bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hadlee28   9635--
Troup15   4310--
Cairns44   10853--
Snedden8   2220--
Coney4   160--
Morrison35   16522--
Howarth4   240--

New Zealand second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BA Edgarc Lillee b Yardley29501094- 
JG Wrightc Laird b Alderman4471- 
JFM Morrisonc Marsh b Lillee82427-- 
*GP Howarthc Chappell b Yardley1925303- 
BL Cairnsb Border34213232 
JV Coneynot out512121- 
RJ Hadleenot out622-1 
MD Crowedid not bat      
+IDS Smithdid not bat      
MC Sneddendid not bat      
GB Troupdid not bat      
Extras(4 lb)4
Total(5 wickets, 112 minutes, 29.4 overs)109
Fall of wickets:
1-4 (Wright), 2-17 (Morrison), 3-44 (Howarth), 4-97 (Cairns), 5-103 (Edgar)
Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lillee13   5321--
Alderman7   0301--
Border2   131--

--> BA Edgar (1) 100 in 326 minutes
--> BA Edgar (1) passed his previous highest score of 129 in Test matches
--> BA Edgar (1) passed his previous highest score of 152 in first-class matches
--> BA Edgar (2) passed 1000 runs in Test matches when he reached 13
--> B Yardley reached 250 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed RJ Hadlee, his 2nd wicket in the New Zealand first innings
--> RJ Hadlee reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when he dismissed RW Marsh, his 3rd wicket in the Australia second innings



Created by the CricketArchive Oracles
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive