Wellington v Otago
Shell Trophy 1981/82
VenueBasin Reserve, Wellington on 12th, 13th, 14th January 1982 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWellington won the toss and decided to field
ResultWellington won by 4 wickets
PointsWellington 19 (Batting 3, Bowling 4); Otago 7 (Batting 3, Bowling 4)
UmpiresSC Cowman, SJ Woodward
Close of play day 1Wellington (1) 17/0 (Vance 6*, Edgar 10*)
Close of play day 2Otago (2) 92/4 (Dawson 4*, Hoskin 0*)
Man of the MatchWL Blair

Otago first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IA Rutherfordc Ormiston b Cederwall13     
JG Bracewellc and b Chatfield0     
BR Blairb Chatfield12     
WL Blairc Cederwall b Gray132     
RN Hoskinc Morrison b Chatfield17     
GJ Dawsonb Gray48     
*+WK Leesc and b Gray7     
B Abernethyc Ormiston b Cederwall2     
BP Bracewellc Gray b Cederwall12     
PW Hillsnot out6     
SL Boockb Cederwall12     
Extras(4 b, 6 lb, 3 nb)13
Total(all out, 99.4 overs)274
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-22, 3-39, 4-91, 5-223, 6-231, 7-234, 8-246, 9-261, 10-274 (99.4 ov)
Wellington bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Williams15   5360--
Chatfield24   6583--
Coney8   4270--
Wheeler3   0170--
Gray23   7583--

Wellington first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RH Vancelbw b BP Bracewell12     
BA Edgarc Abernethy b Hills14     
JV Coneyc BP Bracewell b Abernethy48     
*JFM Morrisonc Lees b Hills11     
EJ Grayc Hoskin b BP Bracewell35     
RW Ormistonc Rutherford b BP Bracewell6     
+EB McSweeneyc BR Blair b Boock29     
BW Cederwallc Dawson b Boock38     
GP Wheelernot out32     
JA Williamsb Boock18     
EJ Chatfieldc Rutherford b Boock4     
Extras(2 b, 1 lb, 3 nb)6
Total(all out, 88.5 overs)253
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-37, 3-71, 4-92, 5-112, 6-137, 7-171, 8-200, 9-246, 10-253 (88.5 ov)
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
BP Bracewell25   5453--
Hills14   3432--
BR Blair10   2270--
Abernethy4   0171--
JG Bracewell22   4870--

Otago second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IA Rutherfordc Ormiston b Chatfield51     
JG Bracewelllbw b Chatfield23     
BR Blairc Ormiston b Gray4     
WL Blairlbw b Gray1     
GJ Dawsonc Cederwall b Williams52     
RN Hoskinc Vance b Williams25     
*+WK Leesb Cederwall41     
B Abernethyc and b Chatfield9     
BP Bracewelllbw b Cederwall19     
PW Hillsnot out3     
SL Boockdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 10 lb, 4 nb)18
Total(9 wickets, declared, 103.5 overs)246
Fall of wickets:
1-79, 2-80, 3-84, 4-92, 5-141, 6-174, 7-202, 8-231, 9-246 (103.5 ov)
Wellington bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Williams21   8492--
Chatfield28   12683--
Coney2   0160--
Wheeler7   2130--
Gray38   18562--

Wellington second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RH Vancec Lees b Abernethy18     
BA Edgarst Lees b JG Bracewell58     
JV Coneyc Lees b Abernethy28     
*JFM Morrisonc WL Blair b Boock43     
+EB McSweeneynot out60     
EJ Grayc WL Blair b Boock13     
BW Cederwallc BR Blair b Boock0     
RW Ormistonnot out20     
GP Wheelerdid not bat      
JA Williamsdid not bat      
EJ Chatfielddid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 15 lb, 5 nb)28
Total(6 wickets, 50.4 overs)268
Fall of wickets:
1-55, 2-99, 3-146, 4-182, 5-220, 6-220
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
BP Bracewell3   0100--
Hills3   150--
Abernethy20   1962--
JG Bracewell5   0431--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> GP Wheeler made his debut in Plunket Shield matches
--> GP Wheeler made his debut in First-Class matches
--> GP Wheeler made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> GP Wheeler made his last appearance in Plunket Shield matches
--> SL Boock (1) passed 500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 8
--> JA Williams (1) passed his previous highest score of 13 in Plunket Shield matches
--> RN Hoskin (2) passed 500 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 21