India v New Zealand
Benson and Hedges World Series Cup 1980/81
VenueMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 10th January 1981 (50-over match)
Balls per over6
TossNew Zealand won the toss and decided to field
ResultNew Zealand won by 10 wickets
PointsIndia 0; New Zealand 2
UmpiresRC Bailhache, RV Whitehead
ScorersMP Ringham (India), GGA Saulez (New Zealand)
Man of the MatchBA Edgar

India inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
*SM Gavaskarlbw b Chatfield83136--25.81
TE Srinivasanb Coney42330--17.39
DB Vengsarkarc Parker b Coney021--0.00
GR Viswanathrun out3352623-63.46
SM Patilc Coney b Snedden822311-36.36
Yashpal Sharmab Cairns51717--29.41
Kapil Devrun out211932--110.53
+SMH Kirmanirun out7812--87.50
KD Ghavric Howarth b Snedden61118--54.55
RMH Binnynot out51416--35.71
DR Doshinot out558--100.00
Extras(10 lb)10
Total(9 wickets, innings closed, 34 overs)112
Fall of wickets:
1-13 (Srinivasan), 2-13 (Vengsarkar), 3-13 (Gavaskar), 4-46 (Patil), 5-60 (Yashpal Sharma), 6-66 (Viswanath), 7-82 (Kirmani), 8-98 (Ghavri), 9-100 (Kapil Dev)
New Zealand bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Hadlee8   3150---1.88
Chatfield8   2141--48.001.75
Coney6   3182--18.003.00
Cairns7   0391--42.005.57
Snedden5   0162--15.003.20

New Zealand inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
JG Wrightnot out39871191-44.83
BA Edgarnot out65891194-73.03
JM Parkerdid not bat      
*GP Howarthdid not bat      
JV Coneydid not bat      
+WK Leesdid not bat      
MG Burgessdid not bat      
RJ Hadleedid not bat      
BL Cairnsdid not bat      
MC Sneddendid not bat      
EJ Chatfielddid not bat      
Extras(8 lb, 1 nb)9
Total(no wicket, 119 minutes, 29 overs)113
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Kapil Dev8   0290---3.62
Ghavri7   2150---2.14
Binny4   0230---5.75
Patil2   0100---5.00
Doshi8   0270---3.38

--> The match was reduced before play started to 40 overs per side
--> The match was reduced to 34 overs per side
--> TE Srinivasan made his last appearance in ODI matches