Otago v Central Districts
Shell Trophy 1979/80
VenueCarisbrook, Dunedin on 19th, 20th, 21st January 1980 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossCentral Districts won the toss and decided to bat
ResultOtago won by 5 wickets
PointsOtago 15 (Batting 1, Bowling 2); Central Districts 4 (Batting 1, Bowling 3)
UmpiresD Cummings, BD Dawson
Close of play day 1Central Districts (1) 70/1 (Pierce 25*, Shrimpton 0*)
Close of play day 2Central Districts (2) 11/1 (Pierce 6*, Aberhart 0*)
Man of the MatchJG Bracewell

Central Districts first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RA Pierceb Bracewell25     
AH Joneslbw b Bracewell45     
MJF Shrimptonc Hill b Bracewell10     
GN Edwardsc BR Blair b Boock9     
GJ Langridgerun out3     
MH Toynbeenot out29     
WG Hodgsonc Turner b Boock38     
+IDS Smithnot out2     
DC Aberhartdid not bat      
*DR O'Sullivandid not bat      
GK Robertsondid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 3 lb)11
Total(6 wickets, declared, 99.4 overs)172
Fall of wickets:
1-68, 2-75, 3-94, 4-94, 5-98, 6-164
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cairns10   1160--
Hill13   3220--
Bracewell34   13593--

Otago first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Turnerc O'Sullivan b Toynbee59     
SJ McCullumc Smith b Robertson5     
IA Rutherfordc Hodgson b Aberhart1     
WL Blairc Smith b Toynbee38     
BR Blairc Pierce b Toynbee0     
TD Sutherlandlbw b O'Sullivan0     
*+WK Leesnot out39     
JG Bracewellc Pierce b Toynbee15     
BL Cairnsdid not bat      
RJ Hilldid not bat      
SL Boockdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)9
Total(7 wickets, declared, 59.3 overs)166
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-11, 3-74, 4-76, 5-77, 6-119, 7-166 (59.3 ov)
Central Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Robertson8   0261--
Aberhart12   7251--
O'Sullivan22   5581--

Central Districts second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RA Piercec Sutherland b Bracewell23     
+IDS Smithb Boock4     
DC Aberhartb Bracewell21     
MJF Shrimptonb Bracewell3     
GN Edwardsc BR Blair b Bracewell11     
GJ Langridgeb Bracewell13     
MH Toynbeec and b Boock14     
WG Hodgsonst +McCullum b Bracewell8     
AH Jonesc -Lees b Bracewell32     
*DR O'Sullivanlbw b Boock19     
GK Robertsonnot out2     
Extras(2 b, 3 lb, 2 nb)7
Total(all out, 94.5 overs)157
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-51, 3-54, 4-55, 5-72, 6-81, 7-99, 8-101, 9-154, 10-157 (94.5 ov)
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cairns12   6240--
Hill3   040--
Bracewell44   14787--

Otago second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Turnerc Smith b Robertson12     
SJ McCullumb O'Sullivan13     
IA Rutherfordc Langridge b Shrimpton57     
WL Blairc sub b Shrimpton30     
BR Blairnot out34     
TD Sutherlandc Edwards b O'Sullivan0     
*+WK Leesnot out17     
JG Bracewelldid not bat      
BL Cairnsdid not bat      
RJ Hilldid not bat      
SL Boockdid not bat      
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(5 wickets, 54.1 overs)164
Fall of wickets:
1-24, 2-36, 3-112, 4-115, 5-117
Central Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Robertson7   1271--
Aberhart8   2130--
O'Sullivan20   3692--
Toynbee4   1170--
Shrimpton15   1352--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> WG Hodgson made his debut in first-class matches
--> WG Hodgson made his debut in Plunket Shield matches
--> MJF Shrimpton made his last appearance in Plunket Shield matches
--> WK Lees (2) passed 2000 runs in Plunket Shield matches when he reached 2
--> JG Bracewell achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Central Districts second innings (previous best was 5-16)
--> JG Bracewell achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Plunket Shield matches in the Central Districts second innings (previous best was 5-16)