Otago v Northern Districts
Shell Trophy 1979/80
VenueCarisbrook, Dunedin on 27th, 28th, 29th December 1979 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossOtago won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorthern Districts won by 6 wickets
PointsOtago 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Northern Districts 17 (Batting 2, Bowling 3)
UmpiresBD Dawson, NF Tapper
Close of play day 1Northern Districts (1) 56/1 (JG Wright 16*, Howarth 34*)
Close of play day 2Otago (2) 67/5 (WL Blair 24*, Bracewell 1*)
Man of the MatchSR Gillespie

Otago first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Turnerc Kuggeleijn b Scott26     
SJ McCullumb Gillespie3     
IA Rutherfordrun out44     
WL Blairc MJE Wright b Treiber28     
BR Blairc JG Wright b Roberts53     
*+WK Leesc JG Wright b Treiber17     
JG Bracewellc Howarth b Gillespie37     
BL Cairnsc Dickeson b Gillespie1     
PW Hillsnot out10     
SL Boocknot out1     
GB Thomsondid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 2 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)11
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 100 overs)231
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-49, 3-108, 4-110, 5-136, 6-215, 7-220, 8-220
Northern Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gillespie25   3623--
Treiber21   10282--
Roberts17   4431--
Scott13   3321--
Dickeson11   1330--
Howarth13   2220--

Northern Districts first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Gibsonc Bracewell b Cairns0     
JG Wrightc Turner b Bracewell80     
*GP Howarthc WL Blair b Thomson47     
JM Parkerc Turner b Boock19     
CM Kuggeleijnc and b Bracewell30     
ADG Robertsc Hills b Boock22     
+MJE Wrightb Boock0     
SR Gillespielbw b Boock0     
CW Dickesonc BR Blair b Boock6     
SJ Scottb Boock5     
K Treibernot out2     
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 2 nb)9
Total(all out, 98.2 overs)220
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-83, 3-130, 4-176, 5-189, 6-190, 7-196, 8-202, 9-209, 10-220 (98.2 ov)
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cairns13   6201--
Thomson19   5481--
Hills3   070--
Bracewell27   7552--

Otago second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Turnerb Treiber0     
SJ McCullumc Gibson b Gillespie9     
IA Rutherfordlbw b Gillespie18     
WL Blairnot out55     
BR Blairlbw b Gillespie3     
*+WK Leesc Gibson b Gillespie6     
JG Bracewellc MJE Wright b Gillespie13     
BL Cairnsc Treiber b Scott23     
SL Boockc MJE Wright b Roberts1     
PW Hillsc Howarth b Roberts1     
GB Thomsonlbw b Scott0     
Extras(5 b, 3 lb, 3 nb, 2 w)13
Total(all out, 53.4 overs)142
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-13, 3-41, 4-53, 5-66, 6-88, 7-121, 8-129, 9-132, 10-142 (53.4 ov)
Northern Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gillespie20   5405--
Treiber16   4441--
Roberts7   2112--

Northern Districts second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Gibsonc Boock b Bracewell31     
JG Wrightc WL Blair b Boock22     
*GP Howarthc BR Blair b Bracewell3     
JM Parkernot out37     
CM Kuggeleijnlbw b Boock39     
ADG Robertsnot out6     
+MJE Wrightdid not bat      
SR Gillespiedid not bat      
CW Dickesondid not bat      
SJ Scottdid not bat      
K Treiberdid not bat      
Extras(14 b, 5 lb)19
Total(4 wickets, 83.3 overs)157
Fall of wickets:
1-51, 2-54, 3-64, 4-148
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cairns10   6100--
Thomson4   180--
Boock38   12522--
Bracewell31   8642--
WL Blair0.3040--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> SR Gillespie made his debut in first-class matches
--> SR Gillespie made his debut in Plunket Shield matches
--> K Treiber made his debut in first-class matches
--> K Treiber made his debut in Plunket Shield matches
--> JG Gibson (2) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 25
--> SR Gillespie achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Otago second innings
--> ADG Roberts reached 50 wickets in Plunket Shield matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Otago second innings
--> SR Gillespie achieved his first five wickets in an innings in Plunket Shield matches in the Otago second innings