Otago v Northern Districts
National Knockout 1979/80 (Final)
VenueLogan Park, Dunedin on 15th December 1979 (50-over match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthern Districts won the toss and decided to field
ResultNorthern Districts won by 2 wickets
UmpiresD Cummings, AL Turner
Man of the MatchJG Wright

Otago inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
GM Turnerb Treiber0     
SJ McCullumc Gillespie b Dickeson47     
IA Rutherfordc Roberts b Dickeson14     
WL Blairc Kuggeleijn b Treiber9     
BR Blairc MJE Wright b Gillespie8     
*+WK Leesnot out73     
BL Cairnsc MJE Wright b Gillespie0     
GC Osborneb Scott22     
PW Hillsc and b Gillespie0     
GB Thomsonnot out1     
SL Boockdid not bat      
Extras(5 lb, 3 w)8
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 50 overs)182
Fall of wickets:
1-3, 2-44, 3-65, 4-83, 5-83, 6-83, 7-168, 8-169
Northern Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Gillespie9   3263--18.002.89
Treiber10   0592--30.005.90
Roberts10   1310---3.10
Dickeson10   2122--30.001.20
Scott10   0371--60.003.70
Howarth1   090---9.00

Northern Districts inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
JG Gibsonc McCullum b Boock19     
JG Wrightc Lees b Osborne73     
*GP Howarthc Thomson b Osborne4     
JM Parkerc Lees b Boock3     
ADG Robertsst Lees b Boock0     
CM Kuggeleijnrun out1     
+MJE Wrightc Hills b Thomson25     
SR Gillespiec and b Thomson23     
CW Dickesonnot out24     
SJ Scottnot out1     
K Treiberdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 8 lb)10
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 50 overs)183
Fall of wickets:
1-69, 2-87, 3-94, 4-94, 5-102, 6-104, 7-135, 8-180
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Cairns10   1360---3.60
Hills10   1320---3.20
Thomson10   1502--30.005.00
Boock10   1273--20.002.70
Osborne10   2282--30.002.80

--> SJ McCullum passed his previous highest score of 40 in ListA matches
--> WK Lees passed his previous highest score of 53 in ListA matches
--> MJE Wright passed his previous highest score of 17 in ListA matches
--> SR Gillespie achieved his best innings bowling analysis in ListA matches in the Otago innings (previous best was 1-35)