India v New Zealand
New Zealand in India and Pakistan 1976/77 (3rd Test)
VenueMadras Cricket Club Ground, Chepauk, Madras on 26th, 27th, 28th, 30th November, 1st, 2nd December 1976 (6-day match)
Balls per over6
TossIndia won the toss and decided to bat
ResultIndia won by 216 runs
UmpiresMI Ghouse, KB Ramaswami
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2India (1) 162/4 (Viswanath 82*, Mankad 14*)
Close of play day 3New Zealand (1) 13/0 (Turner 6*, Morrison 7*)
Close of play day 4New Zealand (1) 84/2 (Turner 33*, Burgess 30*)
Close of play day 5India (2) 201/5 (Patel 40*)

India first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SM Gavaskarb Cairns2     
AD Gaekwadc Parker b Cairns0     
M Amarnathc Petherick b Cairns21     
GR Viswanathc Lees b Hadlee87 25181 
BP Patelrun out33  4- 
AV Mankadb Cairns14     
+SMH Kirmanilbw b Petherick44 1703- 
KD Ghavric Petherick b Hadlee8     
S Venkataraghavanc sub (RO Collinge) b Cairns64 18341 
*BS Bedic Cairns b Hadlee5     
BS Chandrasekharnot out1     
Extras(7 b, 8 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)19
Total(all out, 495 minutes, 133.1 overs)298
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Gaekwad), 2-3 (Gavaskar), 3-60 (Amarnath), 4-137 (Patel), 5-167 (Viswanath), 6-167 (Mankad), 7-181 (Ghavri), 8-255 (Kirmani), 9-276 (Bedi), 10-298 (Venkataraghavan, 133.1 ov)
New Zealand bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hadlee21   7373--
Roberts17   5320--
O'Sullivan34   9690--
Petherick25   5771--
Howarth3   190--

New Zealand first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*GM Turnerc Kirmani b Chandrasekhar37 1473- 
JFM Morrisonc Kirmani b Ghavri7     
JM Parkerc Patel b Ghavri9     
MG Burgessb Bedi40 9131 
ADG Robertsc Venkataraghavan b Chandrasekhar1     
GP Howarthc Venkataraghavan b Bedi3     
+WK Leesc Venkataraghavan b Bedi9     
RJ Hadleec Gaekwad b Bedi21 28-2 
BL Cairnsc Mankad b Bedi5     
DR O'Sullivanc Venkataraghavan b Chandrasekhar0     
PJ Pethericknot out0     
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 5 nb)8
Total(all out, 225 minutes, 55.4 overs)140
Fall of wickets:
1-17 (Morrison), 2-37 (Parker), 3-91 (Turner), 4-99 (Burgess), 5-101 (Roberts), 6-103 (Howarth), 7-133 (Lees), 8-133 (Hadlee), 9-136 (O'Sullivan), 10-140 (Cairns, 55.4 ov)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ghavri13   3322--
Amarnath8   3170--
Chandrasekhar16   5283--
Venkataraghavan2   070--

India second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SM Gavaskarst Lees b O'Sullivan43  6- 
AD Gaekwadb Hadlee11     
M Amarnathc Morrison b Hadlee55 1255- 
GR Viswanathst Lees b O'Sullivan17  21 
BP Patelnot out40 10021 
AV Mankadc Burgess b Petherick21     
+SMH Kirmanidid not bat      
KD Ghavridid not bat      
S Venkataraghavandid not bat      
*BS Bedidid not bat      
BS Chandrasekhardid not bat      
Extras(11 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)14
Total(5 wickets, declared, 61.5 overs)201
Fall of wickets:
1-33 (Gaekwad), 2-86 (Gavaskar), 3-118 (Viswanath), 4-142 (Amarnath), 5-201 (Mankad, 61.5 ov)
New Zealand bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hadlee17   3522--
Cairns16   2490--
Roberts2   040--
O'Sullivan20   3702--

New Zealand second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*GM Turnerc Amarnath b Chandrasekhar5     
JFM Morrisonc Chandrasekhar b Ghavri1     
JM Parkerc Kirmani b Chandrasekhar38 1182- 
MG Burgessrun out15     
ADG Robertsc Gavaskar b Bedi0     
GP Howarthc Chandrasekhar b Bedi18 372- 
+WK Leesc sub (Madan Lal) b Bedi21 482- 
RJ Hadleec Amarnath b Bedi5     
BL Cairnsnot out8     
DR O'Sullivanc Patel b Chandrasekhar21 433- 
PJ Pethericklbw b Venkataraghavan1     
Extras(7 b, 1 lb, 2 nb)10
Total(all out, 67 overs)143
Fall of wickets:
1-2 (Morrison), 2-21 (Turner), 3-50 (Burgess), 4-53 (Roberts), 5-79 (Howarth), 6-85 (Parker), 7-103 (Hadlee), 8-114 (Lees), 9-142 (O'Sullivan), 10-143 (Petherick, 67 ov)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ghavri8   4141--
Amarnath3   160--
Bedi22   12224--
Chandrasekhar20   3643--
Venkataraghavan14   8271--

--> GR Viswanath (1) passed 9500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 74
--> S Venkataraghavan (1) passed his previous highest score of 51 in Test matches
--> MG Burgess (1) passed 2000 runs in Test matches when he reached 25
--> RJ Hadlee (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 2
--> AD Gaekwad (2) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 9
--> GR Viswanath (2) passed 2500 runs in Test matches when he reached 11
--> ADG Roberts made his last appearance in Test matches
--> DR O'Sullivan made his last appearance in Test matches
--> DR O'Sullivan (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 5
--> JFM Morrison made his debut in India in first-class matches
--> JFM Morrison made his debut in India in Test matches
--> BL Cairns achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Test matches when he dismissed M Amarnath in the India first innings (previous best was 2-57)
--> BL Cairns achieved his first five wickets in an innings in Test matches in the India first innings