Otago v Central Districts
Shell Trophy 1975/76 (Section Two)
VenueQueen's Park, Invercargill on 27th, 28th, 29th February 1976 (3-day match)
Balls per over8
TossCentral Districts won the toss and decided to bat
ResultOtago won by 4 wickets
PointsOtago 15 (Bowling 5); Central Districts 6 (Batting 1, Bowling 5)
UmpiresD Cummings, BD Dawson
Close of play day 1Otago (1) 122/6 (Campbell 27*, Alabaster 5*)
Close of play day 2Otago (2) 95/2 (Anderson 44*, Sampson 7*)
Man of the MatchKO Campbell

Central Districts first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GN Edwardsc Rutherford b McKechnie25     
RW Ormistonlbw b Thomson0     
DW Nealc McKechnie b Thomson9     
CMH Atkinsonc Thomson b Petherick10     
*MJF Shrimptonc Lees b Petherick30     
AJ Hillc Anderson b Alabaster13     
+LW Downesc Morris b Alabaster9     
BL Cairnsc Petherick b Alabaster2     
DR O'Sullivannot out39     
RI Thomasc McKechnie b Petherick13     
AB Jordanst Lees b Petherick9     
Extras(5 b, 4 lb, 2 nb)11
Total(all out, 60.4 overs)170
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-24, 3-40, 4-67, 5-86, 6-99, 7-106, 8-106, 9-135, 10-170 (60.4 ov)
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomson8   1262--
Morris3   0160--
McKechnie8   291--
Alabaster22   6453--

Otago first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IA Rutherfordlbw b Cairns12     
*GM Turnerc Downes b Thomas28     
RW Andersonc Hill b Jordan3     
HC Sampsonc Neal b Jordan21     
KO Campbellc Edwards b O'Sullivan42     
+WK Leesc Downes b O'Sullivan13     
BJ McKechnieb O'Sullivan0     
GD Alabasterb Jordan8     
GB Thomsonc Shrimpton b Jordan4     
PJ Petherickc Downes b Jordan0     
PR Morrisnot out2     
Extras(2 b, 4 lb, 8 nb)14
Total(all out, 54.4 overs)147
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-28, 3-63, 4-71, 5-96, 6-96, 7-133, 8-143, 9-145, 10-147 (54.4 ov)
Central Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cairns8   2251--
Thomas6   1271--
O'Sullivan16   5263--
Shrimpton6   2110--

Central Districts second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GN Edwardsc Lees b Thomson16     
RW Ormistonc and b Alabaster31     
DW Nealrun out26     
CMH Atkinsonc sub b Petherick29     
BL Cairnsc Campbell b Alabaster4     
*MJF Shrimptonc Sampson b Alabaster0     
AJ Hillc Turner b Petherick8     
+LW Downesc Campbell b Alabaster8     
DR O'Sullivannot out21     
AB Jordanc Alabaster b Petherick0     
RI Thomasc Sampson b Petherick0     
Extras(4 lb, 2 nb)6
Total(all out, 54.6 overs)149
Fall of wickets:
1-22, 2-64, 3-85, 4-97, 5-101, 6-111, 7-123, 8-141, 9-148, 10-149 (54.6 ov)
Otago bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomson5   1141--
Morris5   0170--
McKechnie6   1220--
Alabaster22   5604--

Otago second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IA Rutherfordc Shrimpton b O'Sullivan34     
*GM Turnerc Atkinson b Cairns2     
RW Andersonc Neal b O'Sullivan49     
HC Sampsonlbw b Cairns7     
KO Campbellnot out57     
+WK Leesc Downes b Cairns2     
BJ McKechnielbw b O'Sullivan3     
GD Alabasternot out10     
GB Thomsondid not bat      
PJ Petherickdid not bat      
PR Morrisdid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 6 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(6 wickets, 59.4 overs)174
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-75, 3-99, 4-113, 5-126, 6-139
Central Districts bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jordan5   0260--
Cairns19   1573--
O'Sullivan25   4533--

--> CMH Atkinson made his debut in first-class matches
--> CMH Atkinson made his debut in Plunket Shield matches
--> MJF Shrimpton (1) passed 4500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 23
--> AJ Hill made his debut in first-class matches
--> AJ Hill made his debut in Plunket Shield matches
--> RW Ormiston (2) passed his previous highest score of 30 in first-class matches
--> RW Ormiston (2) passed his previous highest score of 30 in Plunket Shield matches
--> LW Downes made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> LW Downes made his last appearance in Plunket Shield matches
--> KO Campbell (2) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 34
--> AB Jordan reached 100 wickets in Plunket Shield matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Otago first innings



Created by the CricketArchive Oracles
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive