Marlborough v Wairarapa
Hawke Cup 1952/53 (Elimination Match)
VenueHorton Park, Blenheim on 19th, 20th, 21st February 1953 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossMarlborough won the toss and decided to field
ResultMarlborough won by 9 wickets
UmpiresGNH Gillett, CF Hester
Close of play day 1Marlborough (1) 14/0 (Price 12*, Barnett 1*)
Close of play day 2Wairarapa (2) 6/1 (Cruickshank 0*; 1.4 overs)

Wairarapa first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+WW Perryst Bonsall b Cresswell9     
RJ Donovanc Bonsall b RB Neal2     
OAC Smithc McGuire b Harding13     
EGA Mastersb RB Neal4     
WKA Mastersc Harding b Cresswell5     
K Percyb TR Neal52 6652 
J McArthurc and b Cresswell1     
*WJ Footenot out33     
A Cruickshankb TR Neal2     
L Duleyb AJ Neal1     
AI Newlandst Bonsall b AJ Neal0     
Extras(6 b, 1 lb)7
Total(all out, 53 overs)129
Fall of wickets:
1-12 (Perry), 2-12 (Donovan), 3-16 (EGA Masters), 4-25 (WKA Masters), 5-41 (Smith), 6-68 (McArthur), 7-104 (Percy), 8-112 (Cruickshank), 9-129 (Duley), 10-129 (Newland, 53 ov)
Marlborough bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cresswell20   7353--
RB Neal15   5212--
Harding3   141--
Jellyman3   0210--
AJ Neal7   2232--
TR Neal5   0182--

Marlborough first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Pricec Perry b Foote23     
JR Barnettrun out30     
*AJ Nealc Cruickshank b Foote5     
AJ McGuireb Cruickshank10     
JHP Houghtonc Donovan b Newland41     
RE Hardingc and b Duley0     
+GH Bonsallc Percy b Cruickshank6     
RB Neallbw b Duley24     
AH Jellymanc sub b Duley26     
GF Cresswellc McArthur b Duley11     
TR Nealnot out1     
Extras(5 b, 2 lb)7
Total(all out, 240 minutes, 97.4 overs)184
Fall of wickets:
1-27 (Price), 2-39 (AJ Neal), 3-54 (McGuire), 4-92 (Barnett), 5-100 (Harding), 6-113 (Bonsall), 7-123 (Houghton), 8-155 (RB Neal), 9-167 (Cresswell), 10-184 (Jellyman, 97.4 ov)
Wairarapa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cruickshank32   12652--
WKA Masters16   8170--
Newland16   6211--
Foote22   9382--

Wairarapa second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+WW Perryb TR Neal6     
A Cruickshankc Bonsall b Cresswell3     
RJ Donovanrun out10     
EGA Masterslbw b Cresswell0     
OAC Smithb TR Neal5     
WKA Mastersb TR Neal26     
K Percyc Barnett b Cresswell1     
*WJ Footec Harding b Cresswell21     
L Duleyc Cresswell b RB Neal5     
J McArthurnot out4     
AI Newlandlbw b AJ Neal2     
Extras(6 b)6
Total(all out, 36.2 overs)89
Fall of wickets:
1-6 (Perry, 1.4 ov), 2-20, 3-20, 4-23, 5-27, 6-28, 7-57, 8-76, 9-86, 10-89 (36.2 ov)
Marlborough bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cresswell18   8314--
TR Neal13   2343--
RB Neal5   0181--
AJ Neal0.2001--

Marlborough second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Priceb Foote20     
JR Barnettnot out9     
JHP Houghtonnot out4     
AJ McGuiredid not bat      
*AJ Nealdid not bat      
RE Hardingdid not bat      
+GH Bonsalldid not bat      
RB Nealdid not bat      
AH Jellymandid not bat      
GF Cresswelldid not bat      
TR Nealdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 1 lb)5
Total(1 wicket, 20 overs)38
Fall of wickets:
1-32 (Price)
Wairarapa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cruickshank6   270--
Newland5   2100--
Foote5   1121--
WKA Masters4   240--

--> Wairarapa first innings: 50 in 110 minutes
--> Wairarapa first innings: 100 in 140 minutes

Rain delayed the start of the match until 1.30pm on the first day
Rain and bad light brought play to an early finish on the first day
Overnight rain delayed the start of play on the second day until 1.40pm